What I want for Mother’s Day

This time of the year Mother’s Day greetings begin to fill the pages of social media. So much so that I think it becomes cliche and people start to ignore the messages -taking away from the special day set apart to honor mothers.

I also see many “what I want for Mother’s Day” posts from moms. I have never written any such post because honestly, I don’t need or want anything. Although truth be told it is often around this time of the year when I might buy a new blouse or book for myself because the rest of the year I rarely ever buy anything personal. I don’t include yarn in that because all the yarn I buy is used to make things for others.

But I digress.

So this year I have already seen several “what I want for Mother’s Day” posts and I guess that got me to thinking….If I could have anything, what would it be?

I didn’t really have to think very long or hard about the answer because what I “want” is something that is most always at the top of my prayer list.

I just want my children and their families (spouses and children) to have a life-giving relationship with the Lord. I want them to know Him….really truly know Him.

I want them to wake in the morning and give thanks for a restful night’s sleep and the opportunity to serve Him another day on this planet.

Psalm 3:5 I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the LORD sustains me.

I know that they are “believers” and I have seen all of them come a long way in their “walk” with the Lord, for this I am truly thankful because I know that there is nothing, not education, not financial security-nothing on this earth that is important save for a relationship with the one true and eternal GOD.

My prayer is that they be brought into a deep, soul changing relationship with Him-one that dives deep!

 Mark 8:36 What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul?

When I look into the depth of my “mother-heart” this is really what I want. To know that they love the Lord their God with all their heart, with all their soul and with all their mind.

When Yeshua (Jesus) was asked what the greatest commandment was He answered:

Matthew 22:37–Yeshua said to him, “You shall love THE LORD JEHOVAH your God from all your heart and from all your soul and from all your power and from all your mind.

(Aramaic Bible in plain English)

Why is this what I want? Because-I know that if they have this, a true relationship with our creator then they will have eternal life. Then they will be with Him forever after we leave this earth. They will not suffer the fate of being cast into outer darkness for all eternity. Something I think  is not addressed enough. Sin has consequences and the Bible clearly tells us that the consequences are death-not just death here on earth but eternal death in outer darkness.

But not just that-I know that if they have a relationship with Him here-then all their days on earth will be blessed. They may not have all their problems solved or have a huge bank account but they will be led by His spirit and make wise decisions for their lives and they will have peace. They won’t be shaken by the storms of life because they will have shelter in the robes of the Most High. They will gain endurance for the “race”. The Lord will strengthen them, support them, encourage them and guide them.

Praise the Lord I have already seen the fruits of this in their lives.

So-this is “what I want for Mother’s Day” and what I have wanted for a while now and has been the direction and focus of my prayers for years. Praise the Lord I see His hand upon my family. This gives me the courage and endurance to continue to lift them all up in constant, never ceasing prayer.

Just as Paul prayed for the Ephesians…..

Ephesians 3:14-21

“for this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name. I pray that out of the riches of His glory, He may strengthen you with power through His Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to comprehend the length and width and height and depth of His love, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.

Now to Him who is able to do infinitely more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

and also in Colossians…

“walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God. May you be strengthened with all power . . . for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father” (Col. 1:10-12).

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there….may our Lord fill you with the richness of His great Shalom…

PS-of course this isn’t limited to just my children and their families…

4 thoughts on “What I want for Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

